Mr Deridan Hilliard, Dr David Holmes, Sheila Matthews MBE and Mr Roger J Paterson were all conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman at an Extraordinary Council Meeting on 6 December 2017.

Vice Chairman of the Council Cllr Peter Burgess said: “With more than 60 years of service combined, they have contributed so much to the work of the Council through their wisdom, knowledge and vast experience, between them undertaking the various roles of Cabinet Member and Chairmen of numerous committees and the office of Chairman themselves.

“They have served the Council and people of Horsham District with enormous dedication and the Council agreed that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderman.”

 Sheila Matthews MBE was a member of the Council from 1995 to 2015 for Henfield Ward. She was a member and Chairman of Planning Committee (South) and a member of the Personnel Committee and Standards Committee.  She was also a member and Chairman of Henfield Parish Council and a member of Henfield Residents’ Association and Henfield Youth Club.